Infinite

infinite2

#2 Infinite

Barely missing out on my #1 spot of all-time favourite groups is Infinite – purely because SHINee had a 3 month or so head start…

If I could combine them into one super group of awesomeness I would. Wait… SHINfinite is totally a thing now!

So, story time…

Some months ago, Emily had a funny dream in which she and Aimee were in charge of co-ordinating outfits for SHINee and Infinite (let’s face it, a dream job – “Woohyun, strip down so I can run my hands all over you measure you for this shirt”). We howled with laughter at the time because the two groups weren’t even in the same company so the probability of this wasn’t even on the cards, but then the news came out about the Woolim / SM Entertainment merger and *doo doo doo doo twilight zone* then she suddenly became super psychic and prescient.

We are completely OK with the merger, seeing as SM aren’t entirely made of evil (COME AT ME FANGIRLS) because now there are more opportunities for our faves to appear on the same stage. Even better there is already an awesome sub-unit with Woohyun and Key – Toheart!

Back to Infinite!

Not to mention they are SUPER cute and awesome at variety. All of their variety shows kill me and I need time to recover after watching them. You should check out at the very least their “Sesame Player” “Ranking King” “Birth of a Family” and their latest show “This is Infinite”. (and ALL of their appearances on “Weekly Idol” and “High Society” just to see poor Sunggyu be tortured)

I was lucky enough to see Infinite live in concert last year in Hiroshima for their ‘One Great Step’ world tour. Aimee and I were 8 rows back from the front, and because of the way that the rows flowed around the stage, we were essentially only a few feet away from our idols at one of the main focal points. They were so close, that we could have jumped the barrier and touched them! And we had some fantastic personal interaction with them (haha Dongwoo and his hilarious double take at us in a sea of Japanese fans!). I scored an amazing souvenir – a signed paper plane from Woohyun, and Aimee and I had a truly unforgettable night.

Members

SunggyuSunggyu
’89 Liner
Leader and Main Vocal
My ULTIMATE BIAS in all of KPop
Has a brilliant solo album “Another Me”

Aish Gyu… I will devote a whole post to you soon, as you are my ultimate bias. I adore him because of his amazing voice, but also because he is a giant dork and a Fail Leader (I say this with a lot of love and affection – these are good points) plus he has the cutest ever slight lisp. If I had to pin-point the moment where my love was turned into, yep, this is it, this is my ultimate bias – it would be from their Birth of a Family reality show and when he was left alone with the puppies… I think my squeals were heard in Melbourne… I totally dragged persuaded the girls to the filming site of his MV ’60 seconds’ when we were in Seoul so I could fangirl.

DongwooDongwoo
’90 Liner
Main Rapper & Lead Dancer
Sub-Unit -‘ Infinite H’
Emily’s Bias

Super adorable and an early love for me – I managed to pick him out fairly quickly as he’s so 4D in variety. I blame him and Hoya for the rap & hip hop invasion in our kpop collection because of Infinite H. I may have had a meltdown at Aimee during ‘Special Girl’ at the concert when they did the super cute wiggle dance like 3 feet in front of us… Plus Dongwoo winked at us – aish!

WoohyunWoohyun
’91 Liner
Main Vocal
King of Fanservice (also aaaaaabs)
Subunit – ‘Toheart’ with SHINee’s Key

Because Gyu is my ultimate bias, I get to pick again in Infinite – YAY! So technically Woohyun is my Infinite bias (yes, this is a TOTES legitimate rule). Woohyun is a walking fanservice dream – throwing hearts left, right and center and saying the greasiest things… Plus, he sings really really well! I have his signature as a part of my shrine collection. He will kind of hypnotise you in the MV’s due to his various states of shirtlessness and camera flirting.

hoyaHoya
’91 Liner
Main Rapper
Subunit – ‘Infinite H’
Appeared in  the drama ‘Reply 1997’

Super athletic – he tends to dominate in idol athletics and anything competitive – he’s also very charismatic in real life. Although at one point in the concert he was at the focal point in front of us, But Sunggyu was to the left (my bias) and Sungyeol to the right (Aimee’s bias) so… well… we kind of directed our squee away from him *feels so bad* I still love you Hoya! He rocked the satoori dialect in ‘Reply 1997’ and needs to do more dramas 주세요

sungyeolSungyeol
’91 Liner
Vocal
Subunit – ‘Infinite F’
Aimee’s Bias

Poor Yeollie – he gets none of the lines! You can literally count on one hand for most songs – and sometimes not even 1 (I’m looking at you Nothing’s Over) He makes up for it with his charm and personality in everything else, plus those long long legs… Aimee’s obsessive love for him has totally influenced me – to the point that he’s really a bias list ruiner and I can’t really rank Infinite at all now – they’re just one big boy pile of awesome.

LL (Myungsoo)
’92 Liner
Vocal & Visual
Too pretty to live
Dramas ‘Shut Up Flower Boy Band’ ‘Master’s Sun’ ‘Sly and Single Again’
Subunit – ‘Infinite F’

L really is too pretty – we kind of creepily stared at him when he was all in his ‘L’ persona in front of us. That perfect skin… *ahem* Well he is cute as a button too and I enjoy him in his dramas, despite the ‘idol actor’ criticism he seems to get. I prefer his non-reserved Myungsoo personality where he’s a bit more derpy and relatable.

SungjongSungjong
’93 Liner
Vocalist & Maknae
Subunit – ‘Infinite F’

My not so secret bias. Sigh… I just… OK so he did a RIDICULOUS amount of aegyo right in front of me and slayed this noona’s heart and I haven’t recovered AT ALL from it, where before the concert he was in my ‘untouchable’ pile and now he’s the King of the Maknaes (and prince of feather crowns). Jongie went though a phase of wanting to not be the cute maknae, but he seems to have given in, and now pours it on to the point that I can’t deal with how adorable he is. I *may* have my laptop background as a series of rotating Sungjong pics so he can continue to brainwash me.

Discography

Infinite have a very distinctive “sound” in the KPop world. It’s sort of disco-feel-pop with a side of power vocal (if that could be a thing). Two of my all-time favourite main vocals are joined by 2 rappers and 3 vocalists to make some amazing discography.

Releasing in both Korea and Japan and with 2 subunits (soon to be 3) as well as the leader’s solo album – they have a lot of music

Top 5 MV’s (Korea)

5. Nothing’s Over – Sungyeol has no lines – but he’s the main lead! Also suuuuper cute

4. Destiny – mmmm hot boys! With super powers!

3. Man in Love – the cute in this is over the top, but adorable. Also, they FAIL at everything they attempt if you watch closely.

2. Before the Dawn – vampires, hot boys, scorpion dance – what’s not to love!

1. Come Back to Me – I love the dance in this! (and the song)

Top 3 MV’s – Japan

3. Be Mine – Japan put them in amazing outfits for this version!

2. Man in Love – double the cute of the Korean version (how is that even possible??)

1. She’s Back – did we go to the filming location on Jeju because we love this PV so much? YES WE DID!

Extras from Subgroups & Solos!

5. Without You – Infinite H – Yes, we took photos of ourselves on the mock-up set of this MV at Gangnam’s Kpop center

4. Special Girl – Infinite H – waaaaaah so cute!! That shuffle dance wiggle!!

3. I Need You – Sunggyu – I cannot emphasise how much I adore this song! (and cute red-hair Gyu!!)

2. Delicious – Toheart – I cannot deal with these two… OMG *nosebleed*

1. 60 Seconds – Sunggyu – with bonus L in the MV! We went to L’s cafe! This is an amazing song too – I especially love the acoustic and Infinite versions

Top 10 – not including MV’s – Infinite Only!

10. 하얀 고백 (Lately)
9. Paradise
8. Amazing
7. The Chaser
6. Julia
5. In the Summer
4. 60 Seconds (Infinite Version)
3. Can U Smile
2. 너에게 간다 (Come to You)
1. 맡겨 (Entrust)

My Collection

Infinite are on my collect-all list, so I own all their albums, singles and DVD releases and have a few Japan versions to track down at non-exorbitant prices. They also take up 2 shelves and are running out of room!!

infinite-collectionKorea

Over the Top
Paradise
First Invasion
Evolution
Infinitize
Inspirit
New Challenge
Destiny
Fly High (Infinite H)
Another Me (Sunggyu)
Destiny in America (DVD set)
Delicious (Toheart)
Second Invasion (concert DVD)
In the Summer (concert DVD)

Japan

Koi Ni Ochiru Toki
Be Mine (White)
Be Mine (Colour)
Be Mine (B&W)
She’s Back (Special Edition)
Before the Dawn (Version A)
Japan First Live Leaping Over  (concert DVD)
Second Invasion (concert DVD)

Sundries

Infinite Collector Cards x 2 sets
Sticker books and cards from Japan
Sunggyu Postcard – New Challenge
Hoya Postcard – Destiny
Hoya A4 Card – She’s Back
L postcard – Koi Ni Ochiru Toki
Woohyun Photocard – Paradise
Sungjong Photocard – Paradise
Concert Goodies and Posters
Woohyun Signature – One Great Step Paper Airplane

2 thoughts on “Infinite

  1. Hahaha! What persuasion? You were like – “So there’s this place” and we were like “When and where?” and then I was like “And let’s go to Yesung’s cafe on the way!”

    Our holiday was the best!

    My Yeolie! *Hugs forever* As much as Myungsoo is tempting me, I shall not cheat on you. Don’t worry.

    Also, Ooo. My top 5 is different to yours. I shall have to do an Infinite post too! 😀 Maybe in honour of their comeback! 😀 Dashi Dorawa!

    1. I can’t wait for their comeback! (And Infinite H and F soon too)

      The cafe street was super fun to visit – even if we did get ridiculously lost trying to find it. We’ll have to go back next time to actually eat in the cafe too.

      Our holiday was really the best ever!

Leave a Reply

