FT Island

ft-island-the-mood

#3 FT Island

My gateway drug to Kpop! Thanks Hong Ki!

Kdramas are really to blame for my Kpop obsession… It all began with Japanese Manga, then live action adaptations of Manga, then JDrama then a sudden ‘hmmm Kdrama what’s this…’ and clicking that link on an online streaming site and before you know it, you’ve watched and downloaded 40 odd KDramas and have posted a 2TB hard drive to your friends in Melbourne in a blatant attempt to get them hooked along with short cracktastic summaries to explain what they were about. (Cross Dressing! Nuns! Boy Bands! A weird obsession with Pig-Rabbits!)

So really, “You’re Beautiful” is to blame.

Hong Ki (from FT Island) and Yonghwa (CN Blue) had supporting roles in this drama (and sang the OST as well!). And because we liked the songs in the drama so much, it wasn’t too much of a leap to then investigate their music as well.

For about a 3 month period, all I listened to was FT Island, CN Blue and OST’s from various dramas. Then we discovered Super Junior and SHINee and a few others (I may have totally downloaded ALL of UKISS and DBSK/TVXQ on my lonesome)… then we totally watched ALL the SuJu variety at one memorable New Years and at that point were fairly obsessed.

Then later, after successfully brainwashing Emily, Aimee gave me her collection of crack (aka Infinite and ALL the boy bands) after we went to CN Blue in Sydney. I was at this point holding out stubbornly *in denial* and only watching dramas, certain that I had all the Kpop I could possibly need. But then I listened to the Teen Top and well… gave in to cutie boys  which lead to several buying sprees online and by the time we went to Korea my album wishlist was 65 albums and counting. (LOL totally bought over 85, when I had intended to buy 35 tops!).

Which is a very roundabout way of saying that I absolutely love and adore FT Island.

My playlist (narrowed down) has 86 songs on it *despair* because they are one of the few groups where I will just wholesale add an entire album, because every single song is fantastic.

On our trip to Korea, we saw FT Island live in concert for their very special 6 year anniversary. The concert ‘FTHX’ celebrated with their new album, as well as several of their Japanese songs translated to Korean (I just about cried with happiness at this). We had an amazing night and if you squint very very hard at the DVD of the concert you might be able to make us out on the first floor balcony… (also HAHA we were totally interviewed by the Korean News Media as token foreigners. “FT Island 사랑해요 *cue cheesy heart signs from 3 obsessed fangirls*”).

FT Island have A LOT of albums and singles and are an actualfax band – in that they play their instruments! So in addition to having great songs, they’re also super talented. They’re also the very definition of a Flower Boy Band! The band name in full is actually “Five Treasure Island” because their CEO is on crack.

They’re currently (in 2014) destroying their image on FNC’s reality program ‘Cheondgdamdong 111’ along with label mates CN Blue. It’s a fun program to watch!

Fun Fact – Hongki went through a hair phase that can only be described as… not good, terribad, mullet with a side of how-about-no. There was much wailing & gnashing of teeth between us as we mourned for the cute hair that is ‘Five Treasure Box’. To the point where we joked, that if we happened to run into him, in an elevator in Seoul we would totally hold him down and do the world a favour with an impromptu hair cut. Alas… it was not to be – but at least it was confined to a ponytail for most of the concert.

At one point we may have joked that we would celebrate with cake on the day that he cut his hair.

Cue the fateful day and hilarious Kakao messages – complete with photos of cake were exchanged among the three of us. Aimee, may have even iced hers with ‘Happy Hong Ki cutting his hair day’

And thus, our cake for birthdays / memorable occasions tradition was born.

Members

jonghoonJonghoon
’90 Liner
Hot Leader & My Bias
Guitar & Keyboard

+10 hotness points for piano playing 🙂 *melts* I may have had a fangirl meltdown at the concert when he had the piano solo for ‘Severely’. I totally died when I spotted his cameo in the KMovie ‘You’re My Pet” – hehehe so cute!

 

 

hongkiHongki
’90 Liner
Main Vocal
Aimee’s Bias

Well I could listen to Hongki all day – and frequently do – that playlist is only 6 hours or so long… He’s also stealing my heart a bit in his drama role in ‘Bride of the Century’ because he does the cutest ever pout face.

 

 

jaejinJaejin
’91 Liner
Bass, Vocals
Emily’s Bias

Some of my favourite FT Island songs are the ones featuring Jaejin- he just has a really sweet voice that offsets Hongki perfectly.

 

 

seunghyunSeunghyun
’92 Liner
Guitar, Vocals

Seunghyun I don’t know much about! 미안해!!  but he is excellent eye candy 🙂 No – wait! He was totally in ‘Maknae Rebellion’ and was awesome!

 

 

 

minhwanMinhwan
’92 Liner
Drums

Technically the maknae! Awwww good thing he’s also a total cutie boy drummer. Minhwan also has a great singing voice – and has appeared in a few musicals.

 

 

Discography

FT Island release in Japan and in Korea in both languages.

I absolutely CANNOT narrow down any kind of top 10 for MV’s or songs *has nervous breakdown*, so instead will direct you to their YouTube playlists which play from their most recently released songs backwards. You won’t regret listening to them all… it’s only like 3 and a half-ish hours out of your life!

Korean FT Island Songs

Japanese FT Island Songs

According to my i-tunes, my most played songs are:

For Korea –
바래 (I Hope) – aish so cute!! Time travel and a super catchy song!

Bonus – 좋겠어 (I Wish) – because of Hot Leader being super hot here (also a great song!)

For Japan –
“You Are My Life” Sooooo much love for this song. Jaejin’s accompanying vocals are so sweet and Hong Ki puts in an emotional performance.

Bonus – Polar Star – do I know all the words – yes I do!! I love all their star themed songs (there are a few in both languages)

Albums I Own

Well, I am on a mission to collect them all – however there are quite a few that are out of print and thus SUPER expensive to track down in mint or near new condition. I am only missing 10! (OMG that’s a lot to go still). My Japan singles are all version B – so they come with a DVD rather than a photocard. The DVDs are fantastic, as they usually have the full PV as well as a concert performance.

ft-island-collectionKorea

Cross & Change
Five Treasure Box
The Return
Memory in FT Island
Grown Up
FTHX
The Mood (signed by Jonghoon)
FTHX (Concert DVD)

Japan

So Long, Au Revoir
20 (Twenty)
Rated-FT
The Singles Collection
Flower Rock
Brand New Days
Satisfaction
Let It Go
Distance
Neverland
Top Secret
You Are My Life
Beautiful
Mitaiken Future

Leave a Reply

