Boyfriend Megapost – ‘Start Up!’, ‘Obsession’ and ‘Seventh Colour’

Boyfriend are definitely one of the busiest groups in KPop right now, with back-to-back-to-back promotions in Japan and Korea lined up for the next few months.

This evening they performed one of their ‘Love Communication’ showcases in Tokyo promoting their new single ‘Start Up!’, next week they will be back in Korea for their comeback ‘Obsession’ and on July 23 their second Japan Album ‘Seventh Color’ will be released kicking off yet another set of concerts and performances.

*phew* I don’t think those poor boys will be getting much sleep at all in the upcoming weeks!

Boyfriend are a group that I definitely love. I’ll admit to resisting them for a while as soon as I found out their overall concept of cute, more cute, piled on top of even more adorable and compounded with more than a few underage members… There was a big NOOOOOO followed by a period of denial of all cutie boys. Then Teen Top wormed their way into my heart and the cutie boy deluge began.

Yep – I can safely say that I definitely have a thing for cute boy bands – even back to my teenage years.

That’s not to say Boyfriend are permanently adorable – they do try different concepts, and now that their youngest is finally 18, they are about to branch out into a more mature look (more on this later – expect DENIAL and crying kekeke).

スタートアップ!’Start Up!’ – Japanese PV

 bf-startup1  bf-startup2
 bf-startup3  bf-startup4
 bf-startup5  bf-startup6
 bf-startup7  bf-startup8
 bf-startup9  bf-startup10
 bf-startup11

Well aren’t they just adorable! This isn’t anything drastically different for Boyfriend – it has all the hallmarks of several of their previous PV’s. It’s very similar in plot to ‘Pinky Santa’ where the Boyfriends all group together and help a girl with her love problem and then romp cutely for the camera.

I’d like one of those magic keys in my life as well – particularly if it’s hand delivered by one of these cute boys!

I always like how positive and bright their PVs are – and they make me happy to watch them. They always make a lot of eye contact with the camera, so it feels like they are singing directly to you. Boyfriend like to show a lively, cheerful, happy image and this PV delivers that in spades (in metric tonnes actually).

The song has an upbeat tempo and all members share the lines pretty equally. The lyrics are also pretty sweet – as they’re all about giving encouragement and love and starting a bright future together. The chorus is also fairly catchy – lots of 愛してる (aishiteru – I love you). If I translated the line right it means ‘I love you, that word only makes me stronger‘ Awwww!

I have ordered the First Press Limited Edition of this single – and it’s going to be just adorable!

Obsession – Teaser

Aaaand this is a 180 degree shift!

My cutie boys NOOOOO! Hehehe! I had this exact same reaction last year, when the adorable BtoB went with a mature concept for ‘Thriller’. At the time those teasers came out Aimee and I were in China, away from high speed internet and incidentally YouTube – as it’s blocked on the mainland. Emily smuggled us the teaser video uploading to a private google video and we painstakingly streamed it on the patchy internet in the foyer of our hotel in Xi’An watching it in 5 second increments (along with the dance version of Teen Top’s ‘Rocking’). I expressed dismay at the ab-eriffic display of boyflesh and tried to avert my eyes. I failed, went through all the stages of grief and totally bought the album by the time we got to Korea. That abalicious poster is on my wall right now *stares at Hyunsikkie some more*

So… I’m actually pretty OK with this! I like it when the groups that I follow try out new things.

From the looks of things, this might be a ‘Lost Boys’ concept – seeing as Peter Pan is featured on the “Wanted” sign. I definitely like the sound of the song – I have a lot of hip hop and rap in my faves list now. Hyunseong was also looking pretty fine – thank goodness he’s over 20 and I can at least not feel quite so pervy appreciating his abs there.

Also how amazing does that library look? *covets it*

I hope that Boyfriend do well on the charts with this song! I’ll be cheering them on in all the live performances as well. AISH music shows are on 7 days a week and in my timezone – this is a sacrifice I’m prepared to make…

Seventh Colour – Second Japan Album

Hooray! I wasn’t expecting this announcement until much later in the year! At this point only a few teaser images of the album covers and concept photos have been released on their official page.

There will be 3 editions. A CD/DVD combo, A HMV special Edition and a regular CD – Pretty sure I might need at least 2 of these…

bf-cd-dvd   bf-hmv   bf-cd

Here are the super cute concept photos:

s_donghyun    s_hyunseong    s_jeongmin

s_kwangmin    s_minwoo    s_youngmin

Pretty sure that this is going to be a combination of my two favourite Japanese PVs of all-time. SHINee’s ‘Boys Meet U’ and Infinite’s ‘She’s Back’ what with the beach setting, bicycles, cute hats and summer theme!

I CAN’T WAIT!!!

I’ll leave you with those cutest PV’s ever – just to give you an idea of just how adorable this is likely to be…


 

One thought on “Boyfriend Megapost – ‘Start Up!’, ‘Obsession’ and ‘Seventh Colour’

Leave a Reply

