UKISS – Quit Playin’ and Mono Scandal – Review

Well…

I think my reaction to this MV can be summed up with the Kakao conversation meltdown / shocked speechlessness that I had with the girls as I watched it…

Me: OK UKISS let’s watch this!
Mmmm Hot Boys!
OMG
Did… did that just happen?
It did
It totally did
*so hot Xiumin emoji*
Just saying… I’d be totally OK with a threesome with Hoon and Kiseop
I cannot believe they showed that in an MV

Emily: WELL OKAY UKISS
So basically they made an MV that Jun is not allowed to watch kekekeke
I feel like mono is the least of their worries

Me: Lolololol
I’m still not sure that I am OK with that UKISS
but damn those boys are super hot

Emily: Kekeke
I liked Kevin’s hair!
Blue is clearly in right now

Me: I spent most of the MV alternating between mmmmm hot boys and OMG wait… what get your hands off! Ahhh Jun is cute… Don’t touch him like that he’s 17. OMG nekkid boys! WHAAAAAT threesome nooooo omg how is this getting past the censors gaaaaaah Eli is so damn fine! OK and now I need to watch again and this time listen to the song


Kakao Chat, Monday June 2, 2014

kekekeke!

So, UKISS are back with 끼부리지마 (Quit Playin’) and with a scandalous concept that involves:

1. A threesome
2. Yes, there was totally a threesome in a Kpop MV
3. Nothing more needs to be said – except that Eli was looking FINE! (Sorry Soohyun, I’m going to have an affair for a while but you’re still totally my bias)
4. HAHAHAHA 1st ever boy group to have their choreography BANNED from live shows for being unfit for broadcast! *hands them all the prizes*

Admittedly, this MV did take me a while to process, because even after the teaser and multiple warnings (ie: a 19+ rating) I wasn’t quite prepared. I’m not especially conservative, but I was momentarily taken aback with some of the more explicitly implied moments – but then I got over it, and I’m on board with this comeback and whole new version of UKISS. (Though, I totally have to laugh a bit at the fact that technically Jun is too young to even watch the MV that he is actually in!)

Once I went back and watched again – this time actually listening to the song, I was really happy with it. My favourite UKISS song is ‘Someday’ – one of their more mellow ballad tracks and ‘Quit Playin’ has some elements in common with it. ‘Someday’s Piano is replaced in ‘Quit Playin’ with an acoustic guitar – the songs certainly don’t sound the same (seeing as Someday is totally a power ballad), but they share a similar almost melancholy feeling and showcase their voices. What I love about this group is that they have a great vocal harmony and each individual voice can be picked out.

I really like this new direction for UKISS! 끼부리지마 has racked up quite a few plays on my i-Pod already. They just sound so great!

On a side note AJ is sitting this round of promotions out as he is currently recovering from heart surgery in hospital! (btw, that is totally NOT ‘studying in America’!!) I hope he gets well soon!

MV Moments

5 seconds in, and Kiseop rips off his shirt

ukiss-quitplayin-1

(hooray!) WAIT WHAT IS HE DOING? HOON IS THERE TOO OMFG! I was so shocked that I had to rewind this on my first viewing (hehehe!!)

Eli gives me FEELS

ukiss-quitplayin-3

aish! Yeah… negl, he’s preeeeeeetty attractive throughout this. I’ll just call him a bias ruiner and deal with it. Also, I TOTALLY appreciate the suited up hotness that the live stages have thus far produced.

KEVIN!!!!!

ukiss-quitplayin-2

I can’t say that this wasn’t something rather new… (lol forever at the Tumblr comments about him going to church after shooting this. PLEASE – he is a grown man, and this isn’t for real)

Hoon gets slapped

ukiss-quitplayin-4

HAHAHA! Pretty sure he deserved that. No means no!

Soohyun – well ALL the lip rubs

ukiss-quitplayin-5

Always appreciated! If I made a lip rubbing MV playlist, there would be a bajillion videos on it.

NASTY!

ukiss-quitplayin-6

Seriously this is the best 10 seconds of the MV, also great use of the English line here! Super appropriate!

Jun gets close to the ladies

ukiss-quitplayin-7

Sort of…there’s not too much inappropriate touching here… Jun’s voice is really nice and he’s a great addition to UKISS! (also, super cute and only 17…)

Just in case you forgot

ukiss-quitplayin-8

YEP – it’s most definitely a threesome!

Mini Album – Mono Scandal

I bought the album while we were in Melbourne (hence the SUUUUPER lateness of my post) as it had just arrived and I need to keep up with my UKISS collection. It’s a softcover wraparound, so won’t be easily displayed on my shelving as it won’t stand up by itself. However the photobook is chock full of eyecandy and lots of abs / various stages of undress / splayed on beds with come hither eyes / more abs / Yay, Jun is fully clothed! *feels less like a creepy noona* / Eeee Soohyun! I saw that bit of your stomach / aaaaaaaabs goodness.

I may need to track down the hi-res scans of this… for reasons.

I enjoyed all the tracks on this mini album.하나 (One) and 다시 내게로 와줘(Come Back to Me) being my favourites. Those voices! AISH! (Just sayin… I would like MV’s for both of these)

There are 4 songs and 2 additional instrumental versions. I recommend buying it!

If you have time, you should also check out their appearance on ASC (After School Club). Kevin is a regular host and I adore him! We get to know Jun a bit more and they’re all pretty adorable as well. Eli is still killing my bias list. Extra bonus behind the scenes footage in their after show as well.

5 thoughts on “UKISS – Quit Playin’ and Mono Scandal – Review

  1. The reactions to the music video made me laugh. Kevin apologising for it made me laugh even harder. Why aren’t the Korean fans just doing what we’re doing and just drooling over the boys? Ha ha. They all look sooooooo good, and Jun is adorable. I totally forgot that they had added another member so when I saw him I was like “wait, what?” But then I tumblr’d him and find him so cute now.

    I really like the mini album as well. I’m usually hit n miss with U Kiss but in this case, I like every song. Hana is my favourite, it’s the one that sticks in my head the most after listening to it. It also reminds me of another song but I can’t think what.

    1. Hahaha – I know right!! The OTT fan reactions (and tears) give me life. Jun is absolutely adorable – I fell in love with him a bit after watching them on ASC. He was all over Soohyun in the behind the scenes because he was nervous and shy – but he has good English!! (like most of UKISS)

      I totally agree about 하나 – I can’t quite place that familiarity either. I’ll just listen to it some more 🙂

Leave a Reply

