Henry – Fantastic – MV Review

Henry Lau is back again with a new mini album and MV titled ‘Fantastic’. I absolutely loved his solo debut last year, so this was a comeback that I had been anticipating – especially since he did SO MUCH trolling and teasing on all of his social media in the months leading up to the actual announcement of a date and time for the MV.

Being the maknae of Super Junior M, he’s already pretty high up my Suju bias list, and all of his appearances this year on variety shows have cemented him even further as one of my favourites. He’s definitely grown as a solo artist, however I do feel that SM haven’t given him anything particularly special to work with for this MV that would really elevate him as a star to watch.

That said, I did enjoy this MV and I also like the song. The violin adds a different feel – especially as he plays it himself and the chorus is quite catchy too. It’s not a song I skip when it comes up on my i-pod, that’s for sure!

The other songs on the mini album are also fun to listen to – featuring cameos from Chanyeol (EXO), Hoya (Infinite) and Seulgi (SM Rookies). I see what you did there SM… It does come across that they feel the need to shoehorn in other artists to support Henry, but I won’t complain too much as they add some additional colour and match well with Henry too.

Of course I ordered the album, and it will come at the end of the month with my other July KPop – with a bonus poster yay! I also hear that there is a photocard included too!

MV Moments that I appreciated

SM Love Their Maze Sets

Henry-Fantastic-1

Kekekeke! I had a slight concerned frown here as I was thinking… wait… is this the EXO set recycled? I’ll put it down to a thematic coincidence and not just SM cheaping out. I do like the transition from the moody B&W noir feel here in the intro, to the colour of the song. The way the red bleeds / seeps into the frame is done well – it is totally in keeping with the ‘giving life through music’ storyline.

The Violin of “Destiny”

Henry-Fantastic-2

Did JJ Abrams direct this MV? So many lens flares! Henry is rather talented, playing piano and violin (a modern renaissance man!) so I’m pleased to see him showcasing that here. Sure, this is a little bit cliched to have the violin create his dream woman – but at least there is a plot of some sort! I am a bit squicked by all the tubes – I have the same kind of feeling about Beast’s ‘Shock’. It’s just somehow unnerving to me.

Henry Does This…

Henry-Fantastic-3

Straight to my ‘crotch dancing’ playlist! Actually titled “Calling Attention to Packages – aka blatant crotch dancing” (39 videos and counting as I work my way back through all the kpop). It’s almost a body roll too! The choreography in this MV is great to watch, it hits all the beats and also has a few set pieces that are quite clever.

Let Me Show You My Co-ordination Skills

Henry-Fantastic-4

I am aware that he doesn’t actually do this ‘live’ during his stage performances – but you do have to admit that it looks pretty amazing fantastic!

Smile For the Camera!

Henry-Fantastic-5

Henry is super cute as it is (and Emily’s ultimate bias), but I do love that he really looks like he’s having a lot of fun here. K-Pop is full of MVs that include the cute camera staredown – it’s a way to engage directly with the viewer (and let’s face it, I can’t resist it either). Henry is just the right amount of flirtatious and cheeky.

A Box Set That Actually Works

Henry-Fantastic-6

SM love their box sets – but this one has a great detail! I love that it’s actually the ‘inside’ of the violin. If the camera swooping in didn’t clue you in at the beginning of the sequence, the cut-outs in the ceiling should. I especially like how this affects the lighting, causing a spotlight on Henry. This is actually pretty clever, so I give some applause to the set designer for this creative take on the typical box.

All the Henrys

Henry-Fantastic-7

This was an interesting visual choice by the PD and set designer. For me, this kind of display of monitors reads as a dystopia – think Terry Gilliam’s ‘Brazil’ or Big Brother from ‘1984’. It has overtones of surveillance and control and the focus on multiple angles of Henry does nothing to dispel this reading. My take on the plot is that he uses the futuristic technology to channel the energy of his music into creating his perfect girl. This set, to me, makes this act come across as something that is either forbidden or dangerous, it’s kind of odd, because SM aren’t really known for making their MVs make sense at all. Ehhhh I’m probably reading too much into it…

Henry Makes / Gets His Girl

Henry-Fantastic-8

The CG here is SUPER cheesy – but I still like it. And yay! A positive ending for an MV!

Watch the MV below – and don’t forget to check out some of the live stages – they’re pretty fun to watch as well!

It’s gonna be fantastic!

2 thoughts on “Henry – Fantastic – MV Review

  1. Yay! Henry’s back! So happy! You are right though. While this song is fantastic and perfect for Henry, give him a number 1 SM!!!!

    What do you mean Henry doesn’t play the violin live when dancing on stage! *reality shattered*

Leave a Reply

